News Room

News Release

  • News
  • Mary Ann Ziembo Named Tapestry 2018 Linda L. Ruffolo Dedication Award Recipient
For Immediate Release
February 07, 2018

Mary Ann Ziembo Named Tapestry 2018 Linda L. Ruffolo Dedication Award Recipient

FORT WAYNE, Ind.—Mary Ann Ziembo has been named the 2018 Linda L. Ruffolo Dedication Award honoree and will be honored on April 27 at Tapestry: A Day for You, sponsored by Indiana University–Purdue University Fort Wayne (IPFW) and Parkview Health.

About Mary Ann Ziembo
Mary Ann Ziembo grew up in Detroit with two brothers. She married Mike Ziembo, and after he completed his military service in Germany they moved to Fort Wayne, where he accepted a position at Lincoln Life. They have three sons, Mike, Steve, and Zack, and seven grandchildren, who all live and work in the Fort Wayne area.

Ziembo started her career in banking as a teller at People’s Trust Bank in 1976. Over the next four decades in banking in Fort Wayne, she worked her way up to senior vice president of private banking at PNC, just recently retiring from that position. If working and being a mother of three wasn’t enough, Ziembo also took classes at night and earned a bachelor’s degree in general studies from IPFW in 1998.

Throughout her lifetime, Ziembo also found time to give back to the community. She has been a board member for many non-profit organizations, helping with fundraising and money management. Currently, she serves on boards at Erin’s House and Francine’s Friends, and on the distribution committee for the English Bonter Mitchell Foundation. She has also served the Fort Wayne Philharmonic, Fort Wayne Museum of Art, Neighborhood Health Clinic, and the Fort Wayne Drug and Alcohol Consortium.

When asked about her greatest accomplishments, she shared that her greatest accomplishments are her family, including her seven grandchildren and her career.

“Through my career, I have been fortunate to meet and work with some of the finest people in our community," said Ziembo. "My customers and associates have made me a better and wiser person. I cherish these lasting friendships and experiences.”

Past Dedication Award recipients include Cheryl Brockmann, Linda L. Ruffolo, Hana Stith, Dorothy Kittaka, Patsy Dumas, Pat Parker, Donna Emley, Dorian Maples, Bette Harris, Weezie (Mary Louise) Doermer, Harriett and Julie Inskeep, Pat Kunkle, Ione Auer, Pat Miller and Barbara Baekgaard, Colleen Benninghoff, Suzon Motz, Patty Martone, and Betty Stein.

About the Tapestry Linda L. Ruffolo Dedication Award
Each year, Tapestry: A Day for You is dedicated to a female role model whose positive activities have encompassed all aspects of life, including family, community, and profession. The honor is awarded to women who exemplify a balanced life, the empowering of others, leadership, compassion, a positive attitude, service to the community, strength of character, vision, and implementation.

Linda Ruffolo joined IPFW in November 1995 as director of development and served as the executive director of development until her retirement in June 2014. She was an advocate for the City of Fort Wayne, a tireless volunteer, and a caring friend to many. Her extensive list of achievements and volunteer roles included supporting Arts United, the Fort Wayne Philharmonic, Study Connection, Forte Festival, the Fort Wayne Ballet, the Fort Wayne Youtheatre, and Fort Wayne Rotary, among many others. Ruffolo passed away in March 2015 and left a legacy of dedication to the community and university. She received the Tapestry Dedication Award posthumously in 2016 and, due to her tireless work and commitment to supporting Tapestry and the university at-large, Tapestry's executive committee felt it appropriate to name the dedication award in her honor beginning in 2017. Ruffolo and Irene Walters, who also retired from the university after serving as its Executive Director of University Relations and Communications, founded the event and both were original members of the Tapestry Steering Committee.

Registration for Tapestry: A Day for You begins Friday, February 23, and will be available online at

For additional information, contact Kathleen Jackson, at 260-481-6535 or