News Room

News Release

  • News
  • 2016 Summit Scholarship Recipients Announced
For Immediate Release
March 15, 2016

2016 Summit Scholarship Recipients Announced

FORT WAYNE, Ind.— Indiana University–Purdue University Fort Wayne (IPFW) is pleased to announce the recipients of the 2016–17 Chapman Scholarship, Doermer Distinguished Scholarship, and Auer Scholarship.

Chapman Scholars
The Chapman Scholars Program stresses civic engagement, leadership, and education for its recipients, who receive tuition, fees, room, board, and textbooks for four years. The program develops engaged scholars who understand that civic engagement is key to personal growth as well as the growth and strength of a community. By providing Chapman Scholars the opportunity to study and live at IPFW, Chapman Scholars are actively engaged in challenging coursework, experiential learning, leadership development, and civic engagement throughout their university experience. Due to a generous donation from Howard and Betsy Chapman, this is the first year five students were awarded Chapman Scholarships (previously four students were awarded annually).

The 2016–17 Chapman Scholars are (in alphabetical order):

  • Brooklyn Bieszke, Huntertown, Ind., is a 2016 graduate of Carroll High School. She is involved in the Environmental Club, the Common Sense Club, Drama Club, Neon Nation, the Speech and Debate Team, and a variety of school plays. Brooklyn plans to pursue a degree in political science at IPFW.
  • Brian Blackwell, Fort Wayne, Ind., is a 2016 graduate of R. Nelson Snider High School. He is involved in Student Council, DECA, the Tennis Team, the Dive Team, and in the theatre/drama program. Brian plans to pursue a degree in chemistry at IPFW.
  • Srikiran Dasari, Fort Wayne, Ind., is a 2016 graduate of Northrop High School. He is involved in the Speech Team, the Debate Team, National Honor Society, tutoring, and the morning announcements at Northrop. Srikiran plans to pursue a degree in biology/pre-med at IPFW.
  • Scott Forsythe, Huntington, Ind., is a 2016 graduate of Eagle Academy. He is involved in the Boy Scouts, Computer Club, Game Developers Club, Young Authors Club, Chess Club, and Top Engineering Prospects. Scott plans to pursue a degree in computer engineering technology at IPFW.
  • Marcus Thomas, Tell City, Ind., is a 2016 graduate of Perry Central Junior-Senior High School. He is involved in National Honor Society, Future Farmers of America, Key Club, the English Academic Team, 4-H, and the Purdue Boiler Vet Camp. Marcus plans to pursue a degree in pre-veterinary science at IPFW.

 Doermer Distinguished Scholar

The recipient of the Doermer Distinguished Scholarship must major in business and is paired with a faculty mentor and a mentor in the business community. Recipients are invited to attend Business Advisory Council and Alumni Council meetings and other events, allowing them the opportunity to network with leaders in the business community. In addition to a full-ride scholarship to IPFW for four years, Doermer Distinguished Scholars also receive an international business travel experience at no expense.

  • The Doermer Distinguished Scholar for 2016–17 is Gabrielle (Gigi) Goshorn of Niles, Mich. A 2016 graduate of Niles High School, Gabrielle is involved in the Marching Band, Math and Science Center, National Honor Society, College Going Leadership Committee, Business Professionals of America, and Key Club.

 Auer Scholarship

The Auer Scholarship is a full-ride scholarship meant for incoming freshmen who intend on majoring in either the theatre or music fields. This is the first year that the scholarship has been awarded.

  • The Auer Scholar for 2016–17 is Valleri Bowman of Fort Wayne, Ind. A 2016 graduate of East Allen University, Valleri is involved in Student Council, the National Honors Society, and the Drama Department, which she co-founded.

MEDIA ONLY: For more information on the scholarships and their recipients, contact Kelsey McQuillin, Summit Scholarship Program Coordinator, at 260-481-0535 or