College of Visual and Performing Arts

Department of Fine Arts

The Department of Fine Arts is accredited by the National Association of Schools of Art and Design (NASAD).

John Hrehov,
Department Chair and Professor

Indiana University-Purdue University Fort Wayne
2101 E. Coliseum Boulevard
Fort Wayne, IN 46805-1499

Office: Visual Arts Building
Room: VA117
Hours: Mon-Fri 8 am-5 pm

Phone: 260-481-6705
Fax: 260-481-6707

Fine Arts | Music | Theatre | VCD

IPFW Department of Fine Arts Scholarship Day

Friday, March 21, 2014

Scholarship Application

  • All students wishing to apply for scholarships at IPFW must access and submit the 2013-2014 IPFW Common Scholarship Application. Only students who have submitted the application are eligible for scholarship consideration at IPFW. Fill out the application completely and submit.

Each spring semester a Scholarship Day competition determines awards granted to both incoming and returning Department of Fine Arts majors. Scholarships are based upon academic achievement and evidence of artistic merit awarded by a committee of department faculty. Most scholarships are contingent upon enrollment of at least 12 credit hours per semester and a minimum cumulative grade-point average of 3.0.

Endowed fine arts scholarships:

  • Visual Arts Endowed Scholarship
  • Steven Smith Memorial Scholarship
  • John Matthew Stein Memorial Scholarship
  • Betty Fishman Fine Arts Endowed Scholarship
  • The Motz Family Scholarship for Visual Arts

Other fine arts scholarships:

  • Psi Iota Xi Visual Arts and Music Scholarship
  • (Visual Arts portion rotates each year between Fine Arts and Visual Communication and Design)

College of Visual and Performing Arts

Visual and Performing Arts awards scholarships to Fine Arts, Music, Theatre and Visual Communication and Design majors. These awards are provided from the school rather than from a specific department.

Endowed Scholarships:

  • Ione Auer Arts Scholarship
  • Waterfield Foundation Scholarship
  • Samuel S. and Bronnica W. Weinberg Scholarship Fund in Memory of Gertrude Weigler Brateman
  • Visual and Performing Arts Endowed Scholarship

Student work-study and other paid positions are also available.

Scholarships and Financial Aid for Freshmen

Our Chancellor's Distinguished Scholarship will pay full tuition and our Chancellor's Scholarship will pay 1/2 tuition. Both scholarships are renewable for four years. The IPFW Admissions Office also has 50 Chancellor Merit Awards that are available to students that are not legal residents of the state of Indiana. The scholarship allows nonresidents to pay in-state fees. High school seniors must rank in the top 25% of their graduating class and have an SAT score of 1650 or an ACT score of 25 or above. International students should e-mail the International Student Services Office for more information.

A student may receive a Chancellor's Scholarship, a Chancellor's Distinguished Scholarship, or a Chancellor's Merit Award, but no more than one of these scholarships will be awarded to an individual student. Not available to students currently or previously enrolled at IPFW. Awards commence in fall semester.