College of Visual and Performing Arts

2014 IPFW Gene Marcus Piano Competition Winners

2014 GM Comp Winners

Thank you to the 28 wonderful students who competed in Rhinehart Recital Hall Sunday, June 8. We look forward to next year's competition.

Elementary Division (ages 9 and under)

1st Prize: Catherine Ji

2nd Prize: Michael Tapp

3rd Prize: Kenny Wang

Honorable Mention: AnnahMarie Behn-Link

Honorable Mention: Daniel Liu

Intermediate Division (ages 10-12)

1st Prize: Rachel Mei Lanting

2nd Prize: Kevin Wang

3rd Prize: Hanna Inoue

Honorable Mention: Arisa Hocharoen

Honorable Mention: Maria Inoue

Junior Division (ages 13-15)

1st Prize: Michelle Tapp

2nd Prize: Peter Rutkowski

3rd Prize: Sage Hamm

Honorable Mention: Jelena Nguyen

Honorable Mention: Skyelar Raiti

Senior Division (ages 16-18)

1st Prize: Mark Bixel

2nd Prize: Eesha Bemra

3rd Prize: Valentina Murzin-Kudrna


Please click here to download the 2018 competition application.

About the IPFW Facilities and the Rhinehart Music Center

Rhinehart Music Center

Indiana University-Purdue University Fort Wayne is a Carnegie Community Engaged University that awards Indiana University bachelor's degrees in music. The piano competition and camp will be held in the Rhinehart Music Center, a facility built in 2007 to serve the university and community. It provides an ideal learning environment, including excellent rehearsal spaces, studios and performance halls. Ample practice facilities are available, including a number of rooms with grand pianos.

CAA Rhinehart Recital Hall

For More Information

The IPFW Gene Marcus Piano Competition is under the direction of Dr. Hamilton Tescarollo, Associate Professor of Piano and Director of Keyboard Studies at IPFW. Questions regarding the program should be directed to him at 260-481-6723 or