College of Arts and Sciences

The PI Math Club is a Student Organization at IPFW.

Membership forms are available from the secretary in KT 200.

This page also announces events for the IPFW Actuarial Club.

PI Math Club Events: 2015-16

PI Math Club Pictures: 2015-16

  • Rick Richmond and Hannah Harber, presenting on the actuarial program at Lincoln Financial Group, Tuesday, Oct. 6 3:00-4:15 KT 248.
  • Sofia Lyrintzis, IPFW math major, Children's drawings on a torus. Sept. 30.
  • The first meeting of the Actuarial Science Club is September 24PDF
  • Welcome Back picnic, Sept. 15, 2015.  IPFW Friends Pavilion. PDF
  • Actuarial Presentation by Ian Rolland. April 29, 2015.  Photo page
    • IPFW's Actuarial Club, PI Math Club, and Pi Mu Epsilon invite you to join us for an informative discussion with Ian Rolland, retired Chairman and CEO of the Lincoln Financial Group, a Fortune 500 company.
    • Mr. Rolland joined Lincoln National Life's actuarial program in 1956, and he became president of the company in 1975. Two years later, he became CEO, a position he held until retiring in 1998. He has a wealth of experience in insurance, corporate planning, and leadership. In 1988-1989, Mr. Rolland also served as president of the Society of Actuaries.
  • Math Matters: PI Math Club/Pi Mu Epsilon student talks, April 22, 2015.
    • Call for papers: PDF
    • Poster: PDF
    • Photo Page
    • Bre Anne Briskey, Men or Women: Who Really Talks More?
    • Jessie Moffitt, Modeling Water Distribution Using Flow Networks
    • Luke Bertsch, Optimal Blackjack Strategy
    • Vreneli Brenneman, Solomon's Pool
  • A Celebration of the Mathematical Mind, for the Martin Gardner Centennial. PDF
    • Nov. 14, 2014
    • Soap Bubbles and Geometry, by Professor Coffman
    • followed by more short talks on recreational mathematics by Professor Berry, Andy Rich, Manchester University, and Mel Royer, Indiana Wesleyan University.
    • Photo Page
The PI (Purdue-Indiana) Math Club

2014-15 Officers



Lucas (Luke) Bertsch


Altun Shurkulu Treasurer
Tara Joyce Secretary

Lowell Beineke

Faculty Advisor

Doug Townsend

Faculty Advisor

Dan Coroian

Faculty Advisor

Chip Vandell

Faculty Advisor