News Room

News Release

  • News
  • University Awards Presented at Annual Fall Convocation
For Immediate Release
August 26, 2013

University Awards Presented at Annual Fall Convocation

Key Info

  • 2013 Fall Convocation welcomes new faculty and staff to IPFW
  • Annual kickoff to the academic year
  • Faculty promotions and tenure announced
  • University awards presented
  • Information fair with programs and services across campus featured

FORT WAYNE, Ind.—The first day of the 2013–14 academic year at Indiana University–Purdue University Fort Wayne (IPFW) featured the annual Fall Convocation, held in the Auer Performance Hall at the Rhinehart Music Center.

In her opening remarks, Chancellor Vicky Carwein said the annual fall convocation is a time to celebrate the arrival of new faculty and administrators and welcome them to the campus community.

Vice Chancellor for Academic Affairs Jeff Anderson, Vice Chancellor for Student Affairs and Enrollment Management George McClellan, and Interim Vice Chancellor for Financial and Administrative Affairs Stan Davis shared a look at the year ahead in their remarks.

The following awards were presented by Vice Chancellor for Academic Affairs Jeff Anderson:

Promoted and Tenured Faculty

Promotion to Associate Professor with Tenure

  • Troy Bassett, Associate Professor of English, with tenure
  • Jeffrey Casazza, Associate Professor of Theatre, with tenure
  • Benjamin Dattilo, Associate Professor of Geology, with tenure
  • Debrah Huffman, Associate Professor of English, with tenure
  • Il-Hee Kim, Associate Professor of Education, with tenure
  • Meyong Hwan Kim, Associate Professor of Economics, with tenure
  • Cheu-jey Lee, Associate Professor of Education, with tenure
  • Hongli Luo, Associate Professor of Computer and Electrical Engineering Technology, with tenure
  • Jun Ma, Associate Professor of Marketing, with tenure
  • Reynaldo Pablo Jr., Associate Professor of Civil Engineering Technology, with tenure
  • Suin Roberts, Associate Professor of German, with tenure
  • Abraham Schwab, Associate Professor of Philosophy, with tenure
  • Hamilton Tescarollo, Associate Professor of Music, with tenure
  • Sara Webb-Sunderhaus, Associate Professor of English, with tenure
  • Meiko Yamada, Associate Professor of Sociology, with tenure
  • Jin Soung Yoo, Associate Professor of Computer Science, with tenure
  • Karla Zepeda, Associate Professor of Spanish, with tenure

Promotion to Professor

  • Janet Badia, Professor of Women’s Studies
  • Bongsu Kang, Professor of Mechanical Engineering
  • Nancy Mann, Clinical Professor of Dental Education
  • Barbara Resch, Professor of Music
  • Hao Sun, Professor of Linguistics
  • Richard Weiner, Professor of History

FACET (Faculty Colloquium on Excellence in Teaching)

  • Mary Cooper, associate dean of the College of Health and Human Services and professor of dental hygiene

Friends of the University Outstanding Teacher Award

  • Stella Batagiannis, associate professor of education

Outstanding Research Award

  • Abdullah Eroglu, associate professor of electrical engineering;

Leepoxy Award for Excellence in Undergraduate Teaching

  • Jeffrey Casazza, associate professor of theatrical engineering;

DECCO Award for Innovative Online Teaching

  • Kent Kauffman, assistant professor of business law

Vice Chancellor for Student Affairs and Enrollment Management George McClellan presented the following awards:

Chancellor’s Community Engagement Awards

  • Faculty award: Jospeter Mbuba, associate professor in the Department of Public Policy
  • Faculty community partner: Crime Victim Care of Allen County
  • Student award: Srikanth Dasari
  • Student community partner: Northrop High School Speech and Debate Team
  • Student organization award: Circle K International
  • Student community partner: American Cancer Society
  • Department award: Athletics
  • Department community partner: Vera Bradley Foundation

Outstanding Advisor Award

  • Joanne Bauman, Department of Nursing
  • Sydney Miracle, Department of Nursing

Students’ Choice Award for Teaching Excellence

  • Elliott Blumenthal, associate professor of biology

For more information contact Nicole Wilkins, chief communications officer, 260-481-4174,