News Room

News Release

  • News
  • Eight Cadets Commissioned at Largest ROTC Ceremony in IPFW's History
For Immediate Release
May 22, 2015

Eight Cadets Commissioned at Largest ROTC Ceremony in IPFW's History

FORT WAYNE, Ind.—Years of early morning fitness sessions, weekend training, color guard, honor guard, and community service events culminated in the launch of military careers at the Indiana University–Purdue University Fort Wayne (IPFW) Army Reserve Officers' Training Corps Commissioning and Awards Ceremony.

Eight individuals were commissioned as 2nd Lieutenants, with four going into Active Duty and four going to the National Guard. Those commissioned were also the first to graduate with a minor in military science from the Department of Military Science.

Several awards were also handed out by service members and other distinguished guests in attendance to those cadets who demonstrated exceptional physical and academic performance, as well as excellence in leadership.

"The morale of our cadets is very high as we end this year. It was a great event for our cadets, especially our commissioned seniors," said Major Andrew Mack, assistant professor of military science. "Over 200 people came out to support IPFW's Corps of Cadets, including our chancellor, Vicky Carwein. The support for our program and the military at IPFW is phenomenal."

IPFW's ROTC program was reestablished in 2008 as a satellite of the larger Ball State program. Over the last eight years of its existence, IPFW's Military Science Leadership Club has provided 21 men and women for our nation's military, and the current corps of cadets is projected to commission 32 Army Officers, beginning with the 2015 graduates and those graduating over the next three years.

Speaking at the ceremony was Lieutenant Colonel Michael Mclendon. A native of Wurzburg, Germany, Mclendon is a U.S. Army Special Forces Officer who received a Regular Army Commission as a 2nd Lieutenant through the Reserve Officers' Training Corps as a Military Intelligence Officer. He is currently the Battalion Commander for the Army Recruiting Battalion in Indianapolis.

The ceremony took place Monday, May 11, in the Walb Classic Ballroom.

Graduates commissioned into the United States Army with the rank of Second Lieutenant

  • Jeremiah T. Burdick; Active Duty, Aviation
  • Cody L. Ebnit; Indiana Army National Guard, Signal
  • Terry A. Felix; Indiana National Guard, Ordnance
  • Tony D. Gosser Jr.; Active Duty, Air Defense Artillery
  • Chase E. Gray; Active Duty, Ordnance
  • Kalene L. LaFuente; Texas National Guard, Transportation
  • David A. Martin; Active Duty, Armor (detailed from Military Intelligence)
  • Christopher A. Reilly; Indiana National Guard, Quartermaster

Awards presented at the Commissioning Ceremony

  • Mastodon Army Physical Fitness Award: Cody L. Ebnit, Ryan A Sheaffer
  • Mastodon Army ROTC Color Guard Medal of Excellence: Tyler A. Stacy
  • Daughters of the American Revolution Medal: Rachel R. Beery
  • Military Order of the Purple Heart Award and Medal: Daniel M. Coplen
  • Distinguished Military Science Cadet, MS I: Timothy J. Clay
  • Distinguished Military Science Cadet, MS II: David J. Cox
  • Distinguished Military Science Cadet, MS III: Nicholas L. Burchell
  • Distinguished Military Graduates, United States Army Cadet Command: Jeremiah T. Burdick, Christopher A. Reilly

Mastodon Award of Excellence Cavalry Saber: Jeremiah T. Burdick