News Room

News Release

For Immediate Release
April 17, 2013

The Communicator Wins Awards

Key Info

  • The Communicator wins 11 awards at Indiana Collegiate Press Association’s Annual Awards Luncheon
  • IPFW’s student-staffed-and-operated newspaper
  • Awards presented at IU-Bloomington
  • Photos of award-winning entries available
The Communicator Wins Awards Image 1
Emily Westhoff -1st Place-Best Illustration Print-quality image

FORT WAYNE, Ind.—The Communicator, the student-staffed- and-operated newspaper at Indiana University–Purdue University Fort Wayne (IPFW), received 11 awards over the weekend at the 2013 Indiana Collegiate Press Association’s annual awards luncheon, hosted by Indiana University–Bloomington.

Matt McClure, publisher of the newspaper, said among the awards, “…the staff of the paper received first place among Division II newspapers for Best Themed Issue for its special coverage of the 2012 elections.”

Recipients of the awards include:
The Communicator
      3rd Place, Division II Newspaper of The Year
      1st Place, Best Themed issue (2012 Election Issue)
• The Staff of The Communicator
      3rd Place, Best Staff Editorial
• Emily Westhoff, graphic design editor
      1st and 2nd place, Best Illustration
      2nd Place, Best Front Page
• Travis White, contributor
      1st place, Best Editorial Cartoon
• Sarah Pringle, contributing photographer
      1st Place, Best Sports Photo
• Laura Rosenbaum, arts and entertainment editor
      2nd Place, Best Entertainment Story
      3rd Place, Best Entertainment Story
• Dennis Barbosa, staff writer
      3rd Place, Best Sports Feature Story, “Victory in Failure.”
• Jessica Geyer, news and politics editor
      3rd Place, Best In-Depth Story, “The Other Cost of an A.”

For more information, contact McClure at 260-481-6585 or View photos of some of the entries