News Room

News Release

  • News
  • 2008 Student Achievement Award Winners Announced
For Immediate Release
April 04, 2008

2008 Student Achievement Award Winners Announced

FORT WAYNE, Ind.—With recognition ceremonies in full bloom this spring, Indiana University–Purdue University Fort Wayne (IPFW) took time to honor its student leaders and their accomplishments with a Student Achievement Celebration. The April 2 awards ceremony was co-sponsored by IPSGA and the IPFW Student Life Office.

  • Indiana-Purdue Student Government Association Student Senator of the Year – Amanda Marks
  • Indiana-Purdue Student Government Association Student Activities Board Member of the Year – Charlie Cochran
  • Student Organization Advisor of the Year – Benjamin Pearson-Nelson, America’s Renaissance
  • Student Organization Member of the Year – John Little, America’s Renaissance
  • Student Organization Officer of the Year – Emily Franze, America’s Renaissance
  • Outstanding Student Organization – America’s Renaissance
  • Student Leader of the Year Award – Misty Wolfe and Rachel Utesch
  • Student’s Choice Award for Teaching Excellence – Dr. Ahmed Mustafa, biology department
  • Award for Service to Students – Dani Witzigreuter, student government coordinator
  • Commitment to Diversity Award – Terah Green
  • Building Block Award – Delta Sigma Pi

Eighty-nine IPFW students were chosen as Who’s Who Among Students in American Colleges and Universities were also honored at the ceremony. To be considered for nomination, students must have proven scholastic achievement as well as participation and leadership in co-curricular and extracurricular activities, citizenship, service to IPFW, and the potential for future achievement. They also must be of junior, senior, or graduate student standing. IPFW students’ names are listed in the attachment.

For more information on the awards and the winners, contact the Audrey Moore, director of student life, at 260-481-6283.