College of Visual and Performing Arts

Gene Marcus Piano Competition

2012 IPFW Gene Marcus Piano Competition Winners

Thank you to the 30 wonderful students who competed in Rhinehart Recital Hall Sunday, June 17. We look forward to next year's competition.

To view the individual performances in the final winners recital, please click on the name.

Elementary Division (ages 9 and under)

2012 GM Piano Elem 1st Place1st Prize: Hanna Inoue

2nd Prize: Catherine Ji

3rd Prize: Julie Ana Cmelik

Honorable Mention: Daniel Liu, Felix Zhang

Intermediate Division (ages 10-12)

2012 GM Piano Inter 1st Place1st Prize: Mishael Paraiso

2nd Prize: Peter Rutkowski

3rd Prize: Jessica Simon

Honorable Mention: Andrew Ganahl

Junior Division (ages 13-15)

2012 GM Piano Junior 1st Place1st Prize: Stephanie Tapp

2nd Prize: Michelle Tapp

3rd Prize: Caleb Stuckey

Honorable Mention: Eesha Bemra

Senior Division (ages 16-18)

2012 GM Piano Senior 1st Place1st Prize: Steven Ngo

2nd Prize: Devika Reddy

3rd Prize: Brianna Bowman


Please click here to download the 2018 competition application.

About the IPFW Facilities and the Rhinehart Music Center

Rhinehart Music Center

Indiana University-Purdue University Fort Wayne is a Carnegie Community Engaged University that awards Indiana University bachelor's degrees in music. The piano competition and camp will be held in the Rhinehart Music Center, a facility built in 2007 to serve the university and community. It provides an ideal learning environment, including excellent rehearsal spaces, studios and performance halls. Ample practice facilities are available, including a number of rooms with grand pianos.

CAA Rhinehart Recital Hall

For More Information

The IPFW Gene Marcus Piano Competition is under the direction of Dr. Hamilton Tescarollo, Associate Professor of Piano and Director of Keyboard Studies at IPFW. Questions regarding the program should be directed to him at 260-481-6723 or