College of Visual and Performing Arts

College of Visual and Performing Arts

John O'Connell,  Dean

Indiana University-Purdue University Fort Wayne
2101 E. Coliseum Boulevard
Fort Wayne, IN 46805-1499

  • Office: Visual Arts Building
  • Room: VA102
  • Hours: Mon-Fri, 8 am-5 pm

  • Phone: 260-481-6977
  • Fax: 260-481-6707
  • E-mail:


IPFW Box Office

Fine Arts | Music | Theatre | VCD

Expressions Archive: March 2012

VPA Expressions newsletter masthead

photography  major Swikar Patel Photography

The Search for Aliahna Lemmon by Swikar Patel. National Press Photographers Association (Region 4) 2nd Place Spot News - December 2011

Right Place, Right Time

It seems  has a knack for being in the right place at the right time. Working for the Fort Wayne Journal Gazette, Patel has found himself in a number of interesting situations during his two years with the paper. Not only has he earned numerous awards for being in the right place for the best news photos, he was first on the scene of an accident that required quick action. In April 2011, he was awarded the National Press Photographers Association Humanitarian Award for attending to an accident victim before paramedics arrived. Along with the humanitarian award, his photographs submitted for competition consideration have come up winners seven times in 2011. They include:

  • Indiana Associated Press -
    News Photo of the Month - February 2011
  • Indiana Associated Press -
    News Photo of the Month - March 2011
  • National Press Photographers Association (Region 4)
    1st Place Spot News - March 2011
  • National Press Photographers Association (Region 4)
    2nd Place Feature - April 2011
  • Hoosier State Press Association -
    2nd Place - Best Spot News - December 2011
  • Hoosier State Press Association -
    2nd Place - Sports Feature - December 2011
  • Indiana Associated Press -
    News Photo of the Month - December 2011

Two Students Win Regional Design Awards

Two Students Win Regional Design Awards

Gold, Silver, and Best of Show awards were won by two Department of Visual Communication and Design (VCD) graphic design students in the 2012 AAF Student Addy Award Competition. John Ilang-Ilang won Best of Show in the Mixed Media Campaign category with a radio station marketing campaign and a Gold Addy in the Stationery Package category with a self-promotional identity system. Also, Emma McCarron won a Silver Addy in the Poster Campaign category and an additional Silver Addy in the Direct Marketing category with a radio station marketing campaign.

The American Advertising Federation Student Addy Awards Competition is a unique national awards program designed specifically for college students. Work entered at the local level can move up to regional and national judging, just like the work entered by professionals across the country. Student applicants must be enrolled full- or part-time in an accredited U.S. educational institution. The American Advertising Federation of Fort Wayne is a non-profit organization dedicated to promoting and improving the advertising industry, fostering higher standards of practice in advertising, expanding recognition of advertising, and cultivating a better understanding of the economic and social values of advertising to all people.

Horace Chase Award Goes to…

Imaging and Photography  instructor James Gabbard was awarded the 2012 Horace Chase Memorial  Award

Imaging and Photography instructor James Gabbard was awarded the 2012 Horace Chase Memorial Award by the Professional Photographers of Indiana. This award is presented to the highest scoring wedding album in its category to photographers who creatively tell the story of a wedding. Junior photography major Ryan Hake worked as an assistant to Gabbard on the award winning album, and adjunct faculty Karrine Williams created the digital design for the album.

Professional Photographers of Indiana was founded as a source to educate professional photographers in the areas of lighting, posing and business management. The organization allows photographers the opportunity to network with other photographers to solve problems and re-ignite their imagination. Professional Photographers of Indiana is affiliated with the national organization Professional Photographers of America.

Fine Arts Faculty Garner Top Honors at Artlink

Faculty and alumni were among the winners at Artlink’s 2nd Annual Visual Art (AVA) Awards Party held at the Auer Center for Arts and Culture on Thursday, February 23. Winners from the College of Visual and Performing Arts and included Fine Arts Associate Professor Christopher Ganz in the drawing category, Visual Communication and Design continuing lecturer Jim Williams in the graphic art category, Fine Arts faculty member Sayaka Ganz in the sculpture category, and Fine Arts alumnus Eric Tarr (’04) in the mixed media category.

The winning artists received the coveted AVA Award designed by Fort Wayne ceramist George Morrison, along with a cash prize. The AVA Party is Artlink’s way of honoring accomplished visual artists in northeast Indiana.

Expressions Archive


Blane Pressler (’09, Theatre) will join the Actors Equity Association (AEA) and receive his equity card when he begins work this summer with the Ozark Actors Theatre in Rolla, Missouri, just outside St. Louis. He has been cast in The Wizard of Oz, Noises Off and The Diviners. He has also started work as an extra on the Showtime series The Big C starring Laura Linney.

Photographer’s Forum magazine has selected six IPFW Visual Communication and Design photography majors as finalists for their 32nd Annual College and High School Photography Contest, sponsored by Nikon, USA. VCD photographers include Daniel Dyar, Katrina McKay, Randy Jackson, Rachel Stauss, Keven Oswalt, and Lucas Carter. Their photographs will be featured in the hardcover publication Best of College and High School Photography 2012. Over 17,700 photographs were received from students in the U.S., Canada and around the world. This year’s judges were Dr. Janet Bonsall, University of Central Missouri; Christopher Broughton, Brooks Institute of Photography; and Mark Takeuchi, Art Center College of Design. College and high school entries were judged separately, and finalists will be featured in two sections of the book.

Art education major Nicole Metzger is on a mission. Each year since 2009, she has donated a portion of her work to raise money for charities and benefits. In 2009, Metzger painted a bust for the first Fort Wayne Bust-a-Move project with the Derby Girls. In 2010, she donated work to Promise Ministries which raised money for Fort Wayne's homeless and donated work to Old Crown Coffee Roaster’s Haitian benefit. Metzger recently contributed work to protect the island of Jeju in South Korea, as part of a Peace Camp project.

© 2014 Indiana University–Purdue University Fort Wayne (IPFW). All rights reserved. IPFW is an equal access/equal opportunity university.
If you have trouble accessing this page because of a disability, please email the Office of Institutional Equity at