College of Arts and Sciences

Joan Daley Uebelhoer Outstanding Women's Studies Major Award

The Joan Daley Uebelhoer Outstanding Women’s Studies Major Award honors the student who represents the very best of women’s studies, including excellence in scholarship, a commitment to social justice, and activism on behalf of women. The award is named after Joan Daley Uebelhoer, a long-time instructor in the Women’s Studies Program at IPFW and a devoted community leader and activist. Donations to Community Friends of Women’s Studies funds the award each year.

To be eligible, a student must:

  • be a women’s studies major        
  • have completed at least 12 credit hours towards the women’s studies major
  • have a 3.5 or above GPA in the major
  • demonstrate a commitment to activism and service on behalf of women

Faculty can nominate students for this award, or a student may self-nominate. All nominees are asked to submit a short essay of no more than 250 words illustrating their commitment to social justice and their activism on behalf of women. Essays formatted in WORD should be sent to The deadline for applications is the second week of March.

If you are unsure if you are eligible, the Women’s Studies office can help you locate your credit hours and women’s studies GPA. 

Prior to creating the Joan Daley Uebelhoer Outstanding Women’s Studies Major Award in 2012, the Women’s Studies Program made an award each year in honor of Joan to the women’s studies major or minor who demonstrated a commitment to activism and who had received the grade of “A” in at least four women’s studies courses. Past recipients of this Uebelhoer Award were:


1990: Lisa Tsetse
1991: Nancy Barger
1992: Maggie Curtis
1993 (F.I.R.E.): Amy A. Dockter
1993 (F.I.R.E.): Coreen D. Curtis
1994: Loise A Kerns Duguid
1995: Claudia Coffield
1998: Cathrine (Cat) Voors
2000: Jennifer Merriman
2001: Sarah M. Dick
2003: Sara Patalita
2003: Tesha Freeman
2004: Tasha Sare
2006: Sarah E. Gudorf
2007: Khalilah Najah Hanan
2008: Elizabeth Lehmann
2009: Dana Jennifer Netting
2010: Amanda M. Parker
2012: Vanessa Sampsel
2013: Cailynn Smith
2014: Amity Pauley
2015: Amanda Neumann
2016: Gabrielle Warner