News Room

DSB Students Win Awards

Nicholas Lawrence, a business student who works with Dr. Nichaya Suntornpithug for an independent study course, won the People's Choice award at the IPFW Research Symposium. Congratulations Nicholas!

Nicholas Lawrence

Members of IPFW Enactus recently spent a weekend in Chicago taking part in a regional competition where they were ranked as champions, and now they’re getting ready to compete at the national level in Kansas City in May.

Enactus stands for entrepreneurship, action, and us. It is an international organization that according to its website “…brings together student, academic, and business leaders who are committed to using the power of entrepreneurial action to enable progress around the world. Guided by faculty advisors and business experts, participating students form teams on their campuses to create and implement community projects that empower people to improve their quality of life and standard of living.”

IPFW’s Enactus projects include Mastodon Market, an online resource for IPFW students looking to save on textbook costs; and Fresh Food Initiative (FFI), a community garden project in which investors decide what produce to plant in raised beds that will be tended to by Burmese immigrants specifically hired for this job. Some of the outcomes for FFI last year were raising 6,000 pounds of produce for use by consumers and the Burmese community and the opportunity for the Burmese employees to improve their conversational English and communication skills. This year, FFI hopes to produce 12,000 pounds of food.

The third project, Barnabas Task, involves raising funds to continue and improve the distribution of clean water to residents of Cien Fuegos in the Dominican Republic.

The students who took part in the presentations at the competition are:

  • Stephen Mann, Enactus president
  • Brent Helton
  • Melissa Hoffschneider
  • Selena Jankulovska
  • Isaac Frazier, engineering student

They were accompanied by the following team support members:

  • Austin Ault
  • Beatriz Sivieri
  • Joseph Stoffel
  • Zach Kraute

IPFW Enactus Students